Friday, November 30, 2012

131 Yes, 9 No, 41 Abstain

131 Yes, 9 No, 41 Abstain.  That is the official tally on the UN General Assembly Vote that recognized Palestine as a non-member state of the UN.

Above is an image of the official tally sheet. The original can be found here.

The 9 No votes were:
United States
Check Republic
Marshall Islands
Among the Yes votes: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Georgia, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Lichtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Turkey, Russia, Serbia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, China, India, Japan, Indonesia, Kazakhstan, Brazil, Mexico, Algeria, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nigeria, Philippines, Vietnam, Ethiopia, Egypt, and New Zealand.

The Yes votes include 24 of the 48 countries in geographical Europe, and 14 of the 27 members of the European Union. All other European countries - except the Check Republic - abstained.

The Yes votes include 14 of the 15 worlds most populous countries and 7 of the 10 largest countries in the world by area. (Australia, #6 by area, abstained.)

New Zealand, appears to be the only "white settler state" to have voted Yes. (Maybe that has something to do with the relatively positive relations between the native Maori people and the "later arrivals.")

In percentage terms the vote was: Yes 72.4%, No 4.9%, Abstain 22.7%.  For comparison, the November 29 1947 vote on UN General Assembly resolution 181, the partition plan that ended the British Mandate and established the legal basis for the State of Israel, was: Yes 58.9%, No 23.3%, Abstain 17.7%.

Labels: , ,


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home